PLS Board

PLS Board

The Peace Library System Board of Directors:

  • Is the legal authority for the Peace Library System.
  • Is responsible for the effective governance of the Peace Library System.
  • Is governed by the Libraries Act of the Province of Alberta and the Constitution and Bylaws of the Board, as amended from time to time.
  • Consists of one appointee from each of the participating municipalities. 
  • Meets four times a year, usually in February, May, September, and November.

Peace Library System Board of Directors 2022-2023



City of Grande Prairie

Grant Berg

County of Grande Prairie No. 1

Leanne Beaupre

Big Lakes County

Ann Stewart

Birch Hills County

Denise Joudrey

Clear Hills County

Amber Bean

Saddle Hills County

Kristen Smith

MD of Fairview No. 136

Dalen Richardson

MD of Greenview No. 16

Tom Burton

MD of Lesser Slave River No. 124

Brad Pearson

County of Northern Lights

Belinda Halabisky, Vice-Chair  

MD of Opportunity No. 17

Tahirih Wiebe

MD of Peace No. 135

Theresa Johnson

MD of Smoky River No. 130

Alain Blanchette

MD of Spirit River No. 133

Nick Van Rootselaar

Northern Sunrise County

Carolyn Kolebaba, Chair

Town of Beaverlodge

Cal Mosher

Town of Fairview

Stan Golob

Town of Falher

Lindsay Brown

Town of Fox Creek

Meesha Bainton

Town of Grimshaw

Carmen Johnson

Town of High Level

Mark Liboiron

Town of High Prairie

James Waikle

Town of Manning

Greg Pasichnuk

Town of McLennan

Jacqueline Maisonneuve

Town of Peace River

Elaine Manzer

Town of Rainbow Lake

Michelle Farris

Town of Sexsmith

Clinton Froehlick

Town of Slave Lake

Steve Adams

Town of Spirit River

Harry Ezio

Town of Valleyview

Tanya Boman

Town of Wembley

Anna Underwood

Village of Berwyn

Cindy Hockley

Village of Donnelly


Village of Girouxville


Village of Hines Creek

Alison Bjornson

Village of Nampa

Agnes Roshuk

Village of Rycroft

Roxann Dreger

Paddle Prairie Metis Settlement

Reta Nooskey

System Governance

The Peace Library Board establishes and implements the System's mission through policy governance. A policy governing board hires a Chief Executive Officer to implement the Board's policy and to manage the library system. The Board provides broad, overall leadership.

The Board sets in place framework policies that guide the System's actions. The System's mission, vision, belief, and target statements clarify why the System exists, who it serves, and why. These statements set the overall purpose and direction of the System and also foster stability and continuity for the System.

The Board also creates self-governance policies, including documents that state roles and responsibilities of Board members. The System's Bylaws state the functions of the Board, the committees, and the System's officers. Many of the System's policies are required by provincial legislation and regulation. In other cases, the policies help ensure uniformity and consistency in operational procedures.

Roles of the Board

The Board of Directors is the legal authority for the Peace Library System. As a member of the Board, a Board Member acts in a position of trust for the community, and is responsible for the effective governance of the Peace Library System.

Board Member Responsibility

A Peace Library System Board member is appointed and entrusted by local government to manage library services for the benefit of Peace Library System and its members. Representatives on the Board participate actively in Board business through meeting attendance, discussions and workshops, and regularly report back to their councils and/or local library boards. Serving on the System Board is a great opportunity for councilors or other appointees to:

  • learn about the information services provided by libraries in their community and across the region
  • ensure that their residents' needs are met as libraries move ahead with technology and connectivity
  • network with municipal representatives from municipal jurisdictions across the Peace Region

Appointment to the Board

The Peace Library System is a partnership of 38 municipalities and one Métis settlement in the Peace Region committed to making municipal tax dollars go farther in the provision of library services through cooperation and sharing.
As a member of the Peace Library System, your municipality is entitled to appoint and send a voting representative to meetings of the Board of Directors. Your representative can be:

  • a municipal councillor, or
  • a member of the public with an interest in libraries, literacy, or technology, as long as that person agrees to attend the meetings and carry information between your council and the Peace Library System Board. This person could be a member of your local library board.

We ask municipalities to appoint an alternate who can attend Board meetings and vote in the absence of the designated representative.

Time Commitment
You can expect the following time commitment to attend general board meetings:

How often? The Board of Directors meets four times a year, usually in February, May, September, and November.

How long? Meetings are usually held on Saturdays beginning at 10:30 a.m. Lunch is provided by the Peace Library System, and the meetings usually end by 2 p.m. Overnight accommodation is provided if necessary.

Where? Board and Committee meetings are held throughout the Peace Region. Meeting dates, times, and locations are decided by the board members who attend the meetings. In the past year, meetings were held in High Prairie, Grande Prairie and Peace River. Mileage is paid at the current province of Alberta rate.

Additional Meetings? Participation in the Executive, Personnel, or Plan of Service Committees is voluntary.